Top 10 Movies of 2016

This list is coming to you a day late because of technical difficulties and then my own laziness (I slept in today… a lot in… not on purpose either. Woops!)

So! I’ve gotta say, from my perspective, 2016 wasn’t that great of a year in film. Yes, there’s a LOT of movies I didn’t get to see, but most importantly, there weren’t a lot of movies I WANTED to see. There are movies I saw and enjoyed that I hadn’t ever heard of, or hadn’t thought would be good, but for the past I’d say 5 years I’ve had tons of movies I was DYING to see, whether or not they were any good or not. This year, the anticipation levels were just so low comparable to the past few years.

That said, I still saw 30 movies this year, which is a lot for me since I live in a rural area and even some wide release films we don’t get (which is fucking ridiculous, it isn’t some back-woods 2-screen cinema in a metal building, it’s a proper 8-screen cinema, the wankers) and I have to wait until stuff is on VOD to watch it if it isn’t here.

Either way, I managed to find my top 10, and here we go!

#10. Star Trek Beyond

636043610226539806-stb-06724rlc

I honestly really loved this movie. Unlike many, I did like the previous Star Trek year, but in a year full of bad things, nothing really hits the spot like a fun, fast-paced, high-stakes adventure film set in space! I absolutely love these characters and this one did them right. Also, how can you NOT love saving the day with the power of The Beastie Boys??? This was just a really good movie and I’m always sad that it’s a movie with a double ‘in memory of’ at the end of it.

My Rating: 8/10

#9. Keanu

rs-238140-keanu

I highly doubt this will end up on anybody else’s top 10 list, because people suck. This movie was a comedic masterpiece. I cannot stress enough that I’m not just being hyperbolic because it has a kitten in it and I love kittens, but I will admit I’m a big fan of Key and Peele, so perhaps that has something to do with it? Either way, this movie was so intelligently written for such a silly premise. That said, you can’t discount the kitten thing, because someone made a movie with trained kittens instead of CGI! Do you know how hard it is to get a cat to do anything? Training a bunch of kittens to do stunts is amazing.

My Rating: 8/10

#8. Sing Street

maxresdefault

This one is a film I didn’t hear about anywhere but on twitter from my other film people, and I’m so glad I did! This movie was one of the most ridiculously optimistic, heartwarming, and charming movies I’ve ever seen. That really is the only word I can use to describe it: charming. It’s sweet and though there is enough seriousness to keep the story going, it’s just a fun movie about humanity and friendship. I also love that it has teenagers that actually look like teenagers. That’s sooo rarely done. It’s so well done and so enjoyable. Just watch it. You won’t regret it!

My Rating: 8/10

#7. Rogue One

screen2bshot2b2016-04-072bat2b13-03-30-ed

This film had some haters, no doubt, especially amongst the film people, but I, for one, loved this movie. I absolutely disagree with all the criticism because I fell in love with these characters, I cared about them, and I was devastated at the end of this movie. I never expected that ending, but God it was a good one. The acting alone in this film was breathtaking. I cannot recommend this movie enough to Star Wars fans and to those who aren’t Star Wars fans.

My Rating: 8/10

#6. Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them

FTB933_FBST_DTR4 1232.tif

This was another film that was pretty polarizing, but honestly, it was probably the best movie out of the entire Harry Potter universe in my opinion. I didn’t expect much, but I fell so in love with these characters! They were so real, and dynamic, and so beautiful. Jacob and Queenie’s little romance was THE SWEETEST thing I’ve seen all year. I cannot tell you how much I adore Jacob. Also the Bowtruckle! Soooooo cute! Also, the whole foray into the American Wizarding World is really incredibly interesting. Also, I really love Eddie Redmayne in most everything I’ve seen him in, so he delivered just as much as I wanted in Newt Scamander here.

My Rating: 8/10

#5. Deepwater Horizon

thumbnail_24164

This was a surprise film for me this year. I thought, when I first heard about this film, that it was the dumbest premise ever and the movie would have to suck. And then it got stellar reviews so I decided to go see it a few weeks after it came out. It ended up being one of the best told stories of the year. The balance of everything was so adeptly done that it made for a great movie.

My Rating: 8/10

#4. Hunt for the Wilderpeople

10creat-wilderpeople-2

This was one of several movies I binge-watched to get in before 2016 ended, and let me tell you, it was the BEST of those biged films. Like Sing Street, this movie is just soooo charming. This little boy was the most adorable character I’ve seen all year. I loved him and I loved this story. It was so heartwarming and unique and I will remember this movie for quite a while.

My Rating: 9/10

#3. Finding Dory

maxresdefault1

Of all the animated films I saw this year, and I saw more than any year before, this was by far the best. I know most people are giving that to Moana but to me, this was a far better film. The story is so moving, and the journey is so fun and exciting, and we have our favorite nostalgia characters as well as some new, fun characters. I just loved this movie so much.

My Rating: 8/10

#2. Hell or High Water

hohw_exf_og

This movie was just so extremely well done. I haven’t seen many movies that have that “something” that just makes them perfectly made. The tone, the characters, the direction, the acting, it all comes together expertly to deliver one of the best crime films ever. Basically, if you take the movie The Town and make it western and make the direction better you get Hell or High Water.

My Rating: 9/10

#1. Arrival

maxresdefault2

It had been a very long time since I saw a movie that made me overwhelmed with unidentifiable emotions before I watched this movie, and it may be the best movie I’ve seen since Her all the way back in 2013. The story is incredible and so intriguing and the intricacies of the plot are amazing. The only place it falls short is some of the characters being underutilized, but even then it wasn’t a problem because of how amazing the story is. Absolutely one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. I cried for days.

My Rating: 8/10

Hopefully you guys saw some of these movies and if not, check them out! I also have reviews of most of these movies, so look for those if you’re interested.

Happy New Year!

About J. Chelsea Williford

Student at Middle Georgia State University, writer, pop culture lover.
This entry was posted in Movie Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top 10 Movies of 2016

  1. Josh Tarpley says:

    I LOVE ARRIVAL! I went into that movie expecting the brainy sci-fi, and the film delivered in that regard. I was NOT expecting the emotional gut punch. When we hit that moment in the 3rd act the movie immediately jumped into my favorites of the year.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Hunt for the Wilderpeople (2016) | Chelsea Loves Movies

Leave a Reply

