Welcome To The Punch (2013)

I missed last week, and I’m sorry! I’ve been so incredibly busy! I’m doing NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and that means writing a 50,000 word novel between Nov. 1 and Nov. 30, I’m also working on a short documentary for college that I’ve JUST “finished” (pre-teacher’s critiques finished), and I’m trying to read a 400 page book for this month’s book club, and all that is on top of my normal stuff and other normal class things. BUT I’m gonna do two tonight to make up for it!

So let’s go!


Welcome To The Punch (2013)
 Dir. Eran Creevy
 Writ. Eran Creevy
 Stars: James McAvoy, Mark Strong
 Rated R
 99 mins.
 Action, Crime
 IMDB 6.1

Right, to start with, this was a random find on Netflix, not something I actively sought out to watch. That said, as far as random Netflix finds go, it was a decent one. I’m glad I found it.

Welcome To The Punch is about police detective Max Lewinsky (James McAvoy) and criminal mastermind Jacob Sternwood (Mark Strong) getting caught up in a corrupt cop situation and, even though they are enemies, they end up having to beat the REAL bad guy together.

I have to say one of the biggest pros in my book is how at the very start, we see a realistic reaction to being fucking SHOT where Max gets shot in the leg and lays on the ground screaming and rolling about. In most action movies someone gets shot and they’re like ‘Ow! *grabs injured bit* *keeps limping on*’ and, while I can’t say I’ve ever been shot, I know damn well a BULLET going into your BODY has to hurt really, really bad. I’ve been elbowed in the boob and ended up falling on the floor and trying not to hurl, I’ve seen guys ACTUALLY throw up from getting hit in the nuts, I’m pretty damn sure a GUNSHOT WOUND hurts worse than those things, and seeing someone rolling around screaming in pain was really refreshing!

The whole movie, actually, had some really great and realistic action sequences. The fights were gritty and more realistic (less ninja warrior, more ‘please god pass out already!’) and I really did enjoy it. Yes, Mark Strong’s character has a scene where he blows up a house in a spectacular way, but it was otherwise pretty realistic in it’s violence.

The acting was actually pretty good all the way through. I’d say easily James McAvoy was the standout, but when is he not, the man’s a great actor. Even the partner-chick was a pretty good actor. I liked her a good bit.

The only thing this movie was really lacking was focus, I think. The plot was very interesting, but it wasn’t very focused. We were more focused on the animosity between Max Lewinsky and Jacob Sternwood than the actual plot progressing. There were a lot of things that weren’t made very clear, as if they just skimmed over bits to get back to the dramatic enemies-turned-comerades stuff. Also the title is just dumb as shit, like ‘the punch’ is mentioned one solid time, and it’s totally unimportant, they just wanted a badass sounding title.

All in all, it was a good action movie, and a decent movie altogether.

My Rating: 6/10

About J. Chelsea Williford

Student at Middle Georgia State University, writer, pop culture lover.
This entry was posted in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

