The Usual Suspects (1995)

I AM ALIVE! Sorry for the SERIOUSLY long vacation. Do any of you still even remember me? I failed there. I just got so busy with the semester. I’m a college student taking 4 classes and an internship this semester so it keeps me SWAMPED!

BUT I HAVE RETURNED SO LET’S GET STARTED!


The Usual Suspects (1995)
 Dir. Bryan Singer
 Writ. Christopher McQuarrie
 Stars: Kevin Spacey, Stephen Baldwin, Gabriel Byrne
 Rated R
 106 mins.
 Crime, Drama
 IMDB 8.7

I’m about to blow some minds and SERIOUS bum some people out….

I didn’t like this movie that much. It was boring and predictable. I really question the “BEST TWIST EVER” claims because I saw it coming from like before the 50/50 point.

The Usual Suspects is about a man being interrogated about a heist gone wrong he was involved in. It is told in flashbacks and shows the story of how these 5 men who were brought in for a crime they didn’t commit for questioning decided to form a heist as revenge against the police. Along the way, it comes out that they have all in some way pissed off this notorious ghost crime boss named Keyser Söze and he’s coming for them.

I honestly can’t say too much about this movie without giving away spoilers. Just because I didn’t like it, doesn’t mean YOU might not like it, so I don’t want to do that. So I’ll just say, I honest to God saw the ‘twist’ coming. People are all ‘bullshit, you did not’ but dude. I didn’t even TRY okay? I’m the type of person that doesn’t WANT to solve the mystery before you finish the book. I don’t try to figure things out, and yet I figured this out halfway in.

The ONLY real redeeming quality for this movie is that Kevin Spacey was AMAZING. Great acting. Seriously amazing. Otherwise, it was very boring to me.

My Rating: 5/10

About J. Chelsea Williford

Student at Middle Georgia State University, writer, pop culture lover.
This entry was posted in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

