Hot Tub Time Machine (2010)

One more for now. MAYBE another later on tonight.

Craig-Robinson-Rob-Corddr-001
Hot Tub Time Machine (2010)
 Dir. Steve Pink
 Writ. Josh Heald
 Stars: John Cusack, Rob Corddry, Craig Robinson
 Rated R
 101 mins.
 Comedy
 IMDB: 6.5

I have to open with saying, I never actually WANTED to see this movie. I thought it looked pretty lame when it came out so I never watched it until recently when it was on TV and I was too lazy to go get the remote from across the room.

I don’t like John Cusack. I have no reason for that, I just never have liked him. So already, I didn’t have high hopes for this movie, and honestly it did exceed those expectations, but only because I was so sure it was going to be 100% horrible.

Hot Tub Time Machine  is about three friends, Adam, Nick, and Lou, who are middle aged and pretty much over their lives as they are. When Lou tries to kill himself (sort of) the others decide to take him on a trip and they bring along Adam’s nephew, Jacob. They go back to their old favorite ski resort, only to find that it’s totally gone south in the years since they were there in the 80s. They spend a night getting drunk in the hot tub, and after spilling illegal Russian energy drink on the circuit, they get sent back in time to the 80s to relive their ‘best night ever’.

In all fairness, it is pretty funny. I didn’t expect it to genuinely make me laugh, but it really did quite a few times. I’d say the best part is the running gag of wondering when the bellhop is going to lose his arm. It’s HILARIOUS!

All in all, it doesn’t suck as bad as I thought it would, but all in all, it’s not one I’d necessarily recommend watching.

My Rating: 4/10

About J. Chelsea Williford

Student at Middle Georgia State University, writer, pop culture lover.
This entry was posted in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

