I’ll Be Home For Christmas (1998)

Another!

ill-be-home-for-christmas-1998-08
I'll Be Home For Christmas (1998)
 Dir. Arlene Sanford
 Writ. Tom Nursall
 Stars: Johnathan Taylor Thomas, Jessica Biel, Adam LaVorgna
 Rated PG
 86 mins.
 Comedy, Family, Christmas
 IMDB: 5.3

Christmas movies! I’m going to do a few on the road to Christmas, but not that terribly many probably (I planned to do tons for Halloween and… well they’re still sitting on my DVR unwatched. Woops?).

Our first one is I’ll Be Home For Christmas. It’s a Disney movie I remember from my childhood. I stumbled across it again recently on Netflix and man. I love this movie. I know it’s not the BEST movie, but it’s so fun to watch.

This movie is about Jake, a college kid who always has a scheme up his sleeves. His plans to go to Mexico for Christmas holidays from college instead of go home to his dad, step mom, and sister, change when his dad offers to give him their prized restored Porsche if he’ll just come home for the holidays.  He plans to fly out with his girlfriend using the tickets his dad bought him but… things don’t exactly go to plan.

The movie follows Jake’s crazy misadventures in his attempt to get home. These things include waking up super-glued into a Santa outfit, getting picked up by the most HILARIOUSLY incompetent thief ever, helping a man get his wife back, and trying to ruin his rival’s plans to steal his girl.

It may not be the most imaginative movie or the best artistically, but the laughs don’t stop unless the feels are rolling in and, honestly, what more can you ask of a Christmas movie?

My Rating: 7/10

About J. Chelsea Williford

Student at Middle Georgia State University, writer, pop culture lover.
This entry was posted in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

