Goodfellas (1990)

Sorry it’s been a while! I’m still SO behind. I’ve got 4 movies I need to review but this will be the only one tonight.

goodfellas1_group
Goodfellas (1990)
 Dir. Martin Scorsese
 Writ. Nicholas Pileggi
 Stars: Robert De Niro, Ray Liotta, Joe Pesci
 Rated R
 146 mins.
 Crime, Drama, Mob
 IMDB Rating: 8.7

First off, I have to give my little ‘what Chelsea’s tastes say about this’ disclaimer: I LOVE Mob movies but sometimes I find them boring. If that makes sense. Basically I love mob movies, yet some of the most popular ones are really bleh.

This movie is NOT bleh. This movie was GREAT! I liked the way that the whole movie reads as a biography but it tracks realistically. A lot of times that doesn’t work out well (at least in my eyes). I liked how well rounded all the characters were, I liked how the journey through the years was easy to follow, and I liked the way everybody interacted. It was just a really good movie. One thing that stands out as far as ‘as a film’ rather than ‘as entertainment’ is the use of really good shots.

I will say, there was a LITTLE bit of a ‘really?’ in how Henry reacts to some stuff, as in ‘you’ve been in this organization since you were a kid, you can’t be shocked at people getting whacked in front of you man!

I also don’t like that Robert De Niro is top billed. I get it, he’s a big name, but his character wasn’t THAT important compared to the others. BUT that’s not the movie, that’s marketing, that’s a whole different thing!

There’s one really great tracking shot that follows them through the bowels of the Copacabana that’s just GREAT! I loved that! (I’m in a Film Analysis class right now, on top of my other film studies courses I’ve taken, so I keep picking these things out) This scene also leads into one of the biggest thing I liked about this movie is the SOUNDTRACK! God this movie does great things using easily identifiable songs from the right years and picking some of the best songs to be the songs used. Some of the songs I’m talking about are songs like in the Copacabana scene, “The He Kissed Me” by the Crystals is playing. Then there are other great songs, like “Gimme Shelter” during the cocaine scene, and “Jump Into The Fire” played twice when the helicopter is following him. The musical choices for this movie are perfect for each scene.

All in all, this is one of the better mob movies I’ve seen and I’m very happy I watched it.

My Rating: 8/10

About J. Chelsea Williford

Student at Middle Georgia State University, writer, pop culture lover.
This entry was posted in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

